Movie prime

What Kind Of House Is An IAS Officer Given?


The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is a prestigious branch of the Indian Civil Service, attracting numerous applicants seeking a career in government service. Upon successfully passing the UPSC exam, candidates are appointed as IAS officers and enjoy various privileges, including government-provided accommodations. One key perk of being an IAS officer is the housing facilities they receive. But what kind of houses are allocated to IAS officers?

house ias

Image source:

The allocation of official residences to IAS officers is determined based on factors like pay scale, seniority, and the guidelines of the Central Public Works Department. Specific positions within the IAS and IPS also come with designated residences, such as District Magistrate, Divisional Commissioner, DIG Range, IG Region, DGP State, ADGP Law and Order, Chief Secretary, and more.

Let's delve into the different types of houses provided to IAS officers, each corresponding to their rank and position:

Type 1: Peons

Type 2: Lower Divisional Clerk

Type 3: Assistant

Type 4: This category encompasses officers at the Undersecretary and Deputy Secretary levels.

Type 5: Deputy Secretaries and Directors are entitled to Type 5 residences.

Type 6: Type 6 accommodations are allocated to officers holding the rank and seniority of Joint Secretaries and Additional Secretaries.

Type 7: The highest-end residences are reserved for Additional Secretaries of key ministries and special secretaries in the Government of India. Category 7 residences are the most spacious and prestigious in the hierarchy.

Type 8: Located in the Lutyens Bungalow areas, Type 8 residences are the most exclusive, primarily reserved for unique positions like Cabinet Ministers and Defense Secretaries.


Image source:

Now that you have an understanding of the housing provided to IAS officers, let's explore their salaries.

What is the Salary of an IAS Officer?

IAS officers receive a Dearness Allowance (DA) of 0 percent at the time of joining, which gradually increases over time. The basic salary for all Indian Administrative Service officers begins at a similar level and then rises with their experience and promotions. At the entry level, the basic salary increases by 3 percent each year, with the Cabinet Secretary's level being an exception. The dearness allowance at the entry level increases annually by 0-14 percent.

In addition to housing and salary, IAS officers enjoy various other perks. These include free landline access, mobile connectivity, and broadband internet for their official residences, along with subsidized or free electricity. IAS officers may also receive unofficial privileges, such as complimentary tickets or passes to major events within their jurisdiction.

In Conclusion

While other careers may offer certain benefits, the authority and responsibilities bestowed upon IAS officers are unique. IAS officers are typically entrusted with the administration of entire districts or states, holding the power to influence and drive positive change in areas such as social programs, education, healthcare, and the economy. This unparalleled ability to serve the people and the nation, combined with the opportunity to apply their skills and expertise for the betterment of society, makes the Indian Administrative Service a truly exceptional and influential career path.